Thinking of buying an Apple Tv 4k Box

Dear All,

I am fairly new to Apple products.

I purchased a MAC M2 Air in 2023 and love it.

I currently use an Amazon Fire TV stick and it is very slow, so I want to buy an Apple TV 4k box, but I want to ask some questions, excuse me if the questions sound stupid.

• What is the 64GB and 128GB used for? I understand its for how many things you can download, but why exactly would you need this much memory?
  • Can I open my Icloud Drive Mac files on the apple tv? For example, can I show my family some videos which are on my mac I cloud drive on the Apple tv box?
  • My last question is, all my music which is in my librairy on the mac, How do I get it to show up on the Apple TV 4k box? I believe this is only on my MAC SSD right?

Thank you for any support you can provide. Oh and I was told it is worth buying the 128GB tv box, but I still do not understand why would I need the memory if the films are purchased and streamed from the Apple servers?

MacBook Air

Posted on May 15, 2024 11:04 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 15, 2024 11:53 PM

(Also see the Apple TV box user guide.)

What is the 64GB and 128GB used for? I understand its for how many things you can download, but why exactly would you need this much memory? […] Oh and I was told it is worth buying the 128GB tv box, but I still do not understand why would I need the memory if the films are purchased and streamed from the Apple servers?

The disk size is used for storing the system software, settings, apps, and cache files (including screen saver files). Many users may not strictly “need” this much, but it is part of a package deal: The 128 GB model also has Ethernet (wired networking option) and Thread networking support (for home automation, select smart home devices), which the Apple TV 4K (3rd generation) Wi-Fi-only 64 GB model lacks.

Especially game apps [e.g. Apple Arcade line of games] can be quite large in file size, if you are into that.