Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Search function in apple mail does no longer werk since update Ventura, even after most recent version update

Since I updated to Ventura, my apple mail has become impossible to search. Even just typing a part of a title or a name leads to 0 results. I use apple mail for work, and I combine multiple accounts as I have multiple commitments. This is a crucial feature for me. I have tried all the suggestions I could find online (rebuilding, deleting and re-installing account, searching with codes such as "from:", updating to ventura (just updated to version 13.6, no solution), using spotlight, etc) but nothing works. I even re-organised my mailbox, deleting and organising thousands of mails. I am not a programmer and have no experience in rebooting in safe mode etc. I see these problems have persisted for months, why is this so hard to fix? I am ready to ditch apple mail altogether and find a mail client that does what it needs to do. Or does anyone have the golden tip?

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 12.1

Posted on Sep 25, 2023 1:27 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 4, 2023 8:30 PM

Pretty frustrating to say the least. Wish Apple would focus on making things work rather than a new OS every year.

52 replies

Dec 9, 2023 5:37 AM in response to els_sb

We have exactly the same problem: there is no way to search for emails on our M2 Macbook Air. The flagged emails folder doesn't work either. On our Mac Studio however, everything works as usual. Strange, because both have the exact some Mac OS (Sonoma 14.1.2 ) ...

Please fix!!! People and businesses rely on these basic functions and we certainly can't loose time troubleshooting.

Nov 30, 2023 9:41 PM in response to vee_why