Fragile Macbook Air M2

Has anyone experienced cracked trackpads and chipped screens on a MacBook Air M2? My M2 is 6 months old and I have already had to replace my screen due to a chip, trackpad due to a crack, and keyboard due to an enter key that stopped working.

My M2 is in a hard shell case and I transport it in a padded backpack.

I would think that a computer designed for portability would be more robust in terms of it's durability.

I am a teacher and simply transport it from home to school and back. I use it on my desk.

This is ridiculous. Luckily I have AppleCare. They said in the future, they would have to charge me the $99.00 fee. This is ridiculous for a portable computer to be so fragile.

I can't imagine anyone using this in a rugged environment than at a desk.

My old MacBook Pro never had these issues in the 5 years I owned it. I like the MacBook Air M2 for it's speed and lightness in weight, but the sensitivity to damage is ridiculous.

Posted on May 18, 2023 5:33 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 30, 2023 6:56 AM

Have an M2 Air and horizontal lines began appearing about a month ago, I can’t be without this right now and now a vertical line appeared. This thing sits on a table in a house, and is closed when not in use.

Apple third party says damaged screen, no coverage, and Apple wants us to mail it in.

What a horror show.

[Edited by Moderator]

Similar questions

17 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 30, 2023 6:56 AM in response to IdeaStudios.US

Have an M2 Air and horizontal lines began appearing about a month ago, I can’t be without this right now and now a vertical line appeared. This thing sits on a table in a house, and is closed when not in use.

Apple third party says damaged screen, no coverage, and Apple wants us to mail it in.

What a horror show.

[Edited by Moderator]

May 18, 2023 7:10 AM in response to IdeaStudios.US