Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

MacBook air good enough for web/graphic design?

I’m a website/graphic designer who’s been working in a PC environment for the past 15 years, which I’ve recently left, and am looking at buying my first MacBook in nearly 20 years! I need this community’s help in making a purchase decision. I’m in New Zealand & have narrowed my options down to 2 on Apple’s website. I can get a refurbished 14” MacBook Pro with the M3 Pro chip, 18gb of RAM & 512gb of storage for $3399 or a brand new 13” MacBook Air with the base M3 chip, 24gb of RAM and 1tb of storage for $3199 saving $200 over the Pro. Now, at that spec level would the Air be good enough as an all day machine running apps like Photoshop, Indesign & web based web building apps like Wordpress & Duda along with a bit of video editing etc, or would the Pro be the better buy long term even though it has less RAM and storage than the Air option? I know the Airs and fanless but with 24gb of RAM and 1tb of storage would that be enough to stop it from heating up and throttling using the apps I mentioned?

Posted on Apr 27, 2024 4:29 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 27, 2024 3:05 PM

That MacBook Air is enough for graphic design, always choose the most ram option as design programs consume lot of it, this would be a different story if you are doing things like cad, bin design in architecture or rendering as this has to cause overheating and the Air does not have fans, and even then you can resort to an external one.

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 27, 2024 3:05 PM in response to bpow77