Formulae changing when pasting numbers sheets to a new file

Hi all, I am new to spreadsheets in the Apple environment and really want to use numbers on my MacBook, .

I have one initial challenge to overcome.

Please excuse me if my terminology is incorrect, I will do my best...

Let's say I have a numbers file called "2022":

In this file:

Sheet "1" has numeric data

Sheet "2" finds the appropriate data from sheet 1 data and processes it, eg addition, percentages ect

Let's say I have a second identical file called "2023" with different data.

This file has sheets called "3" and "4" and functions the same.

Now, I want to combine the two files to make one with four sheets.

I want to combine the two files to further data analysis.

I can not select two sheets at once in numbers, so I paste sheet 3 into the first file (2022), no problem.

I paste sheet 4 into the file 2022, but the formulae change to pick up data from sheet one, instead of sheet 3.

Is this due to something I am doing wrong?

Is there a way to combine files that keeps the formulae mining data from the correct sheet?

Thanks

MacBook Air (M2, 2023)

Posted on May 17, 2024 4:22 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 18, 2024 5:49 AM

You really shouldn't have to rewrite all the formulas. Transferring it as a single sheet should work. The only formulas that might/will break when trying to make it one sheet would be INDIRECT formulas but even those will recover (I think) after pasting into the new document, splitting it into separate sheets, and getting the sheet names back to what they were.

1. In the old document, cut/paste (not copy/paste) tables to get them all onto one sheet. All cell references in formulas must be to cells on this one sheet. Any that are not will become messed up in step 3. Everything should still work as it did unless you have INDIRECT formulas that referred to one of these tables (but don't worry).
  2. Copy the sheet (Right click on the sheet tab and Copy Sheet)