Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I program in Java with Xcode 4.2.1?

I'm a student at Georgia Tech and in my 1331 course we are currently learning Java. The professor has stated that he doesn't care what IDE we use and recommended a few to get us started. I've used jCreator in the past, but it is Windows only, and so I installed jGRASP as my secondary option on my Mac.

However, in class I noticed that the professor was writing Java in xCode! And I'm not sure what role the terminal played, but I think it was executing the code.

Now I'm new to my Macs and I can't testify that his Xcode was or wasn't the most recent version, but I have version 4.2.1 and I can't figure out how to create a Java project with xCode, at least in the way that it will recognize my Java syntax errors. Since I'm trying to learn programming, I would rather learn with the xCode IDE if at all possible since at some point I will be learning Objective-C and C++.

Any help or advice would be appreciated. If xCode no longer supports Java, what Mac Java IDEs would you all recommend?

Thanks in advance!

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Jan 13, 2012 3:01 PM

13 replies

Sep 14, 2017 10:00 AM in response to Disgaea

I'm a student computer science — for some reason they're making me do Java all of this year. On top of that, they forced me to work in eclipse... My eyes burned 😟

I heard you could run Java projects in Xcode, Apple listed it as one of the IDEs compatible with java on their own site.

Here, under "Java IDEs"

I still couldn't figure out how to run it though...

Then I found this:

https://github.com/HendrikNoeller/Xcode-Java-Template

I tried it and it just seems to work, real convenient!

Jan 13, 2012 6:03 PM in response to Disgaea

First, the good news. Your professor uses a Mac. You might consider asking for an Xcode template. That way, the professor will know you are a Mac user too <wink, wink>