Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iMessage and FaceTime not working

Hi,

I updated my IOS to 5.1 the other day, and since then neither iMessage nor FaceTime has been working correctly. I'm currently studying abroad in Spain, so my phone number is deactivated. I still have my apple ID on my phone however, which should be enough to use iMessage and FaceTime. When I go into settings, it says iMessage is "waiting for activation". I obviously can't call customer support either, as my phone is deactivated. Apple is really making me angry now. Updating the phone took away my iMessage and FaceTime abilities, and now I can't even contact them because they don't believe in email support. Can anyone propose a solution to my problem? It would be much appreciated!

iPhone 4, iOS 5.1

Posted on Mar 24, 2012 8:21 AM

69 replies

Mar 25, 2012 4:29 AM in response to tyf91

I have literally the exact same issue. I am also studying abroad in Spain. I got iMessage to activate by restoring my network settings and needing to type in the wifi password again but this still didn't make iMessage start working again. I have read multiple postings and I still cannot get iMessage to work. Some messages used to send out through my email but now they don't send at all. I would really appreicate help as well!!

Mar 25, 2012 12:30 PM in response to tyf91

Mine didn't work for 2 months and this fixed it, so I posted it in another discussion and have been getting "thank you" replies nearly daily:

Just update your date/time settings:

Settings

> General

>> Date & Time

>>> Set Automatically: Slide "ON"...If it's already on, then slide it off, chill for a bit (maybe restart it), then slide it back on.

I am using an iPhone 4 with iOS 5.1, but other users with 3GS, 4S, and even iTouch devices replied that it worked.

May 24, 2012 6:03 PM in response to tyf91