Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Iphone 5 Purple haze/tint on pictures

Has anyone noticed a purple tint/haze on pictures taken from the new iphone 5? If so, is it hardware or software related?

iPhone 5, iOS 6

Posted on Sep 28, 2012 10:21 AM

45 replies

Oct 1, 2012 4:54 PM in response to Mangaxhombro

I've got a SERIOUS issue with this. I take between 500-800 pics A DAY. I make my living taking pictures and the 4S never had this issue (starting to wish I'd kept it). It's not just this. Black is much more like a Dk Gray than it was before with the 4S. I have a few days to return it (Day One - PreOrder). For someone to say this is "Normal" and to angle away from the light source is ZERO help when you are shooting interiors (Autos) and surrounded by Windows.

Not happy with this aspect of the New 5.

Oct 1, 2012 5:44 PM in response to TigerSSMac

TigerSSMac wrote:

I've got a SERIOUS issue with this. I take between 500-800 pics A DAY. I make my living taking pictures and the 4S never had this issue (starting to wish I'd kept it). It's not just this. Black is much more like a Dk Gray than it was before with the 4S. I have a few days to return it (Day One - PreOrder). For someone to say this is "Normal" and to angle away from the light source is ZERO help when you are shooting interiors (Autos) and surrounded by Windows.

Not happy with this aspect of the New 5.

I do about 600 pics a day between work and personal, both indoor and outdoor. I gave up and switched back to my 4S. No issues. I would recommend either returning yours, or else selling it online (currently selling on eBay for a large markup), buying a 4S, and waiting until they do a silent update to fix the purple flare issue (or holding out for the 5S, aka rev2).