Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Camera connection kit and lightning adapter compatibility

Is the camera connection kit compatible with the new lightning adapter for import photos on iPhone 5?

Anyone does tested it?

Regards

iMac, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2), mIL

Posted on Oct 11, 2012 10:57 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 11, 2012 11:37 PM

No it's not.

Have to use adapter.

19 replies

Oct 19, 2012 12:13 PM in response to malboraletti

have the same problem, as a musician I need to connect my USB Keyboard (I mean the musical keyboard) and USB won't work with adaptors (dock to lightning and camConKit didn't work)

so iPad mini won't work as well (or not so well!!)

hope to see some camkit for lightning .. at least.

and: the CamKit DID work for iPhone 4 with USB Keys !! so it's Lightning that does not work for USB - so in fact we have a problem with Lightning in general as musician.

be warned - to date there is NO working solution for that for iPhone5 or newer (ipad mini won't work as well)

Oct 31, 2012 10:17 AM in response to Moogulator

After a quick search in the iOS Dev Library, I did come across this answer recently updated file 10-23-2012, and it says,

"The External Accessory framework is designed to allow iOS applications to communicate only with hardware accessories that are developed under Apple's MFi licensee program. MFi compliant accessories can be implemented as wired devices, meaning they plug in to the Apple device's 30-pin or Lightning connector, or as wireless devices, whereby they use Bluetooth as the communication channel. Either way, an application that uses the External Accessory framework will not be notified of an accessory's presence unless the accessory identifies itself as being MFi compliant, i.e., it was specifically designed to interface with an iOS application."