SPOTLIGHT will not open enclosed folder

When I hit command it shows the file path but still opens the file. Double clicking, nothing works. More often than not you want access to the file not immediately open it. This should be the default and opening the file directly should be a shortcut. Being able to find files is a vital part of working on any computer.

It is already a poor tool. Why it gives you succinct results and then when you choose show in finder it gives you 1000's of unwanted results like the word found in a txt file is beyond me.

Does anyone know of a good replacement for Spotlight or a way to get it to work in way that is productive??

Disclaimer I have been using Macs for two decades.

Posted on May 13, 2024 8:25 AM

4 replies

May 13, 2024 10:33 AM in response to curtisfromnovato

curtisfromnovato wrote:

When I hit command it shows the file path but still opens the file. Double clicking, nothing works. More often than not you want access to the file not immediately open it. This should be the default and opening the file directly should be a shortcut. Being able to find files is a vital part of working on any computer.

It is already a poor tool. Why it gives you succinct results and then when you choose show in finder it gives you 1000's of unwanted results like the word found in a txt file is beyond me.

Does anyone know of a good replacement for Spotlight or a way to get it to work in way that is productive??

Disclaimer I have been using Macs for two decades.

I never had your issues with Spotlight...

You can submit your Apple Feedback here: Product Feedback - Apple

ref: Search with Spotlight on Mac

To trouble shoot further you can:

—A SafeBoot Use safe mode on your Mac - Apple Support will sort many anomalies

Does a quick disk repair before it fully boots up, and certain system caches get cleared and rebuilt, third party system modifications and system accelerations are disabled.