Getting MIDI to work on an M2 Ventura iMac

The Midi device I'm using is Midi 1 , not Midi 2. It's always been sort of easy to install Midi in Past OSX versions but the M2 Ventura I have now is rejecting my MOTU midi express 128, a still supported device from Mark Of The Unicorn I've been using for 15 years or so. Transitioning to the M2 has brought midi to a stop. I can to set up the Apple midi studio to make it work because the latest MOTU driver doesn't not seem to be actually loaded at all even though it shows up in the System Settings / Login Items as "on".

Does anybody here have any experience with getting the Apple midi studio to work in the OS Ventura/Mac Studio/M2 environment?

Richard Strachan’s iMac

Posted on Jul 23, 2023 12:34 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 30, 2023 8:41 AM

This reply received from MOTU - it worked for me!

"I'd like to start by removing all MOTU MIDI driver components and doing a fresh install of the driver to see if there's a difference. Make sure that the 128 is off before removing these items, and that you go to System Settings (on macOS), search for Login items, and disabled the MOTU item.

Here's a list of all directories/items you'll need to seek out and remove: 

/Applications/ClockWorks.app 

/Applications/MOTU USB MIDI System Extension.app 

/Library/Audio/MIDI Drivers/Motu USB MIDI Driver.plugin 

/Library/Audio/MIDI Drivers/Motu MIDI Driver.plugin 

/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.motu.driver.usbmidi.dextproxy.launchd.plist 

/Library/Application Support/MOTU/MIDI/com.motu.driver.usbmidi.dextproxy.xpc

/Library/Extensions/Motu MIDI Driver.kext

Note: There may be some items that are not on your machine listed above. That's ok, just ignore it if you don't see one, and move on.