I have a:

iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)

Processor 4K GHz Quad-Core Intel i7

Memory 16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3

Graphics AMD Radeon R9 M395X 4 GB

The operating system:

macOS Monterey

Version 12.7.1

If I click Software Update... there is no update, there is nothing wrong with this computer its as fast today as the day I purchased it, however I want to continue to use this computer and now I find that I cannot update it to later software versions, this is not only a problem for macOS, but other software I use, I cannot install the MySQL Workbench as it will not run on the older OS.

Why? Can this be fixed ?

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

iMac 27″, macOS 12.7

Posted on Nov 23, 2023 11:38 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 24, 2023 3:58 AM

That’s simply not true, software is engineered to be backward compatible, if software was engineered to only run on the latest equipment the market would be very small. I’ve been a software engineer for over 35 years. This practice of not supporting older equipment is a market generation scheme by Apple.

14 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 24, 2023 3:58 AM in response to dialabrain

That’s simply not true, software is engineered to be backward compatible, if software was engineered to only run on the latest equipment the market would be very small. I’ve been a software engineer for over 35 years. This practice of not supporting older equipment is a market generation scheme by Apple.

May 10, 2024 7:50 PM in response to Jimmy_NoVa

Jimmy_NoVa wrote:

So my late 2016 MacBook Pro didn't qualify for the MacOS Ventura release that released October 24, 2022. So the last release support for a 2016 MacBook PRO was October 25, 2021, or 5 years after its build date.

You said that Ventura came out in October 24, 2022, which it did.