Skip navigation

Versions and Time machine

1150 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Jul 31, 2011 1:49 AM by softwater RSS Branched to a new discussion.
softwater Level 5 Level 5 (5,370 points)
Currently Being Moderated
Jul 30, 2011 7:27 PM

I have seen it said in a few thread, here and elswhere that

 

"Want to shut off versioning? Go into your Time Machine advanced preferences and shut off version lock"

 

Could someone please explain to me how this shuts off Versions? As I see it, unchecking this box enables permanent overwriting of your file with new Versions. Doesn't clicking the box means you can prevent new Versions? However, the minimum setting for this is 1 Day. So you only prevent Versions being stored if you create a file the day before you want to play with it...

 

Am I missing something here? Is there a way to turn of Versions? And if this is it, could someone please explain the mechanism of how that works. It doesn't make sense to me. Thx

 

 

Time Machine Preferences > Options:

lock.png

MacBook Pro 2.53GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, Mac OS X (10.7), 4GB 1067 MHz DDR3
  • coocooforcocoapuffs Level 3 Level 3 (845 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 30, 2011 7:30 PM (in response to softwater)
    Is there a way to turn of Versions?

    No, the stuff you are reading in other posts is misinformation. Welcome to Apple Discussions

  • coocooforcocoapuffs Level 3 Level 3 (845 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 30, 2011 8:00 PM (in response to softwater)
    Getting back to my own topic, there must also be a way to disable Versions.

    Short of messing with an SQLdatabase, there is no way known at this moment. We have to wait for an interface from Apple.

  • babowa Level 7 Level 7 (22,060 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 30, 2011 8:19 PM (in response to softwater)

    The definitive answer to Resume is here.

     

    Well, the instructions in that article do not work with all apps - I wasn't able to get a screenshot because I was holding down Option already, but do this: launch Preview. Go to File menu, and hit either Option or Option + Command while hovering cursor over quit. The dialog will change to "quit and keep windows" - which is not what the article claims. The behavior is different with different apps.  And the article repeats the same instructions with the General Pane in System Prefs, so calling those instructions nonsense is well, a bit misinformed.

     

    You can have a look at this article re. Resume:

     

    http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-20083707-263/managing-mac-os-x-lions-applic ation-resume-feature/?tag=mncol;title

     

    As for Versions, there is no other way at the moment; I'd suggest you send feedback to Apple:

     

    http://www.apple.com/feedback/macosx.html

  • Michael Allbritton Level 6 Level 6 (16,145 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 30, 2011 8:19 PM (in response to softwater)

    Apple will never put it in the UI going by what people from the Developer program are saying, but someone will eventually write a hack for it.

     

    I don't think this is necessarily true. Contrary to what some people might think Apple does listen to customer's polite and well-reasoned feedback. I heartily agree that Versions needs to be configurable both globally and on a per-application basis. I have sent Apple feedback on that and I encourage others to do the same. In the meantime, use applications that don't currently support Versions and Autosave.

    MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7), 15" 2.3 GHz Intel i7 (early-2011)

Actions

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Bookmarked By (0)

Legend

  • This solved my question - 10 points
  • This helped me - 5 points
This site contains user submitted content, comments and opinions and is for informational purposes only. Apple disclaims any and all liability for the acts, omissions and conduct of any third parties in connection with or related to your use of the site. All postings and use of the content on this site are subject to the Apple Support Communities Terms of Use.