Skip navigation

MacBook Pro Shipping in Circles Around Globe?

3428 Views 12 Replies Latest reply: Nov 28, 2012 6:30 AM by Larry West RSS
MacIsMyLife Level 1 Level 1 (5 points)
Currently Being Moderated
Feb 6, 2012 8:37 AM

Okay, so I'm really getting a good laugh out of this...

 

Ship date: Feb 2, 2012

Estimated delivery: Feb 8, 2012 by 4:30 PM

 

I wonder when it will end up in Kansas. Should I be concerned or should I just consider it a FedEx fluke.

 

Feb 6, 2012 7:41 AM

In transit

NARITA-SHI JP

 

Feb 5, 2012 3:31 PM

In transit

SHANGHAI CN

 

Feb 5, 2012 10:08 AM

In transit

SHANGHAI CN

 

Feb 5, 2012 7:59 AM

International shipment release - Import

SHANGHAI CN

 

Feb 4, 2012 10:51 PM

Clearance delay - Import

ANCHORAGE, AK

 

Feb 3, 2012 8:00 AM

At local FedEx facility

SHANGHAI CN

 

Feb 2, 2012 1:13 AM

Shipment information sent to FedEx

 

 

Feb 2, 2012 1:05 AM

Left FedEx origin facility

SHANGHAI CN

 

Feb 2, 2012 1:04 AM

Picked up

SHANGHAI CN

Package received after FedEx cutoff

  • Baby Boomer (USofA) Level 9 Level 9 (55,540 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 6, 2012 8:41 AM (in response to MacIsMyLife)

    That is some strange tracking by FedEx.  Give them a call just to see what they have to say about it.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    /___sbsstatic___/migration-images/175/17515852-1.gif

    MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.8), Original MBP (2/2008)
  • eww Level 9 Level 9 (52,975 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 6, 2012 8:48 AM (in response to MacIsMyLife)

    Every time anyone posts a FedEx tracking log here to ask what it means, it's just plain bizarre. Yours, strange as it is, is more nearly the rule than the exception. The good news is that if you just stop paying any attention to the tracking record and wait patiently for your order to arrive, it almost always does. That's what I recommend doing.

  • Michael Black Level 6 Level 6 (17,835 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 6, 2012 8:54 AM (in response to MacIsMyLife)

    Must of been one heck of a blizzard in Anchorage, so they had to fly all the way back to China   Oh well, second times the charm, right?

  • etresoft Level 7 Level 7 (23,860 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 6, 2012 10:07 AM (in response to MacIsMyLife)

    Apple schedules these things as efficiently as possible so that you get your machine as quickly as possible. They do this by doing much of the paperwork electronically. The tracking systems weren't designed for this and it looks like your shipment is going all over the world. It is probably sitting in your local office. Once all of the paperwork clears, they will put it on a truck.

  • b j t Level 4 Level 4 (3,670 points)

     

    /___sbsstatic___/migration-images/175/17522614-1.gifHow did you get this ? ( im a sticky beak )

  • Baby Boomer (USofA) Level 9 Level 9 (55,540 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 7, 2012 8:30 AM (in response to b j t)

    http://www.smileygenerator.us/index.php

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    /___sbsstatic___/migration-images/175/17526125-1.gif

    MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.8), Original MBP (2/2008)
  • eww Level 9 Level 9 (52,975 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 10, 2012 7:18 AM (in response to MacIsMyLife)

    Let's hope it's permanently cured of its wanderlust.

  • Larry West Level 1 Level 1 (120 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 28, 2012 6:30 AM (in response to MacIsMyLife)

    Ok, I know this is old, but as the thread comes up in a Google search for "narita-shi jp fedex", I thought I'd offer a partial explanation...

     

    The problem is FedEx lists all the dates and times as LOCAL dates.

     

    China & Japan are on the other side of the International Date Line from Anchorage, so it is always tomorrow in China/Japan relative to Alaska.

     

    So, Shanghai on 2/3/12 @ 8AM was Anchorage on 2/2/12 @ 3 PM

    And...

    Shanghai on 2/5/12 @ 7:59 AM was Anchorage on 2/4/12 @ 2:59 PM

    Shanghai on 2/5/12 @ 10:08 AM was Anchorage on 2/4/12 @ 5:08 PM

    Shanghai on 2/5/12 @ 3:31 PM was Anchorage on 2/4/12 @ 10:31 PM

     

    When the location was Anchorage on 2/4/12 @ 10:51 PM, the time in Shanghai was 3:51 PM on 2/5/12!

     

    No, I don't believe it only took 20 minutes to get there, so there is still something going on.

     

    The only really anomalous location was Narita (Tokyo) on 2/6/12 @ 7:41 AM, which was Shanghai @ 6:41 AM, and Anchorage on 2/5/12 @ 1:41 PM!

     

    The moral to this elongated story is: don't worry too much about the tracking, just relax until the doorbell rings!

Actions

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Bookmarked By (0)

Legend

  • This solved my question - 10 points
  • This helped me - 5 points
This site contains user submitted content, comments and opinions and is for informational purposes only. Apple disclaims any and all liability for the acts, omissions and conduct of any third parties in connection with or related to your use of the site. All postings and use of the content on this site are subject to the Apple Support Communities Terms of Use.