Skip navigation

iphoto11

172 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jan 11, 2013 6:13 AM by léonie RSS
jamestrigg Calculating status...
Currently Being Moderated
Jan 10, 2013 4:09 PM

Hi,

 

I have a new imac and I've setup 2 accounts, I've created a shared iphoto library in the users/shared location.  However whenever I change accounts and open iPhoto I get a message saying that the library needs updating, I click ok it updates and it's fine.  this happens on both accounts, I fully close down iphoto before opening it up in the other account but still I get this message!  this is really frustrating, I don't want this happening everytime I open iPhoto.

 

pleaes help?

 

Regards,

James

iPhoto '11, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)
  • léonie Level 8 Level 8 (46,535 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 10, 2013 10:44 PM (in response to jamestrigg)

    James,

    are you modifying the shared library from both accounts? Then you may have a permissions problem. To share a library it needs to be in a location, where permissions are ignored. That would be best on an external drive, but you can also put the library onto a writable disk image, see this support article:

     

    iPhoto: Sharing libraries among multiple users

     

    Regards

    Léonie

  • léonie Level 8 Level 8 (46,535 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 11, 2013 6:13 AM (in response to jamestrigg)

    How can there be a permissions problem for a library on the shared location, both accounts are admin and have both read and write status.

    Sure, you can set the read/write permissions for both accounts, so both can open the iPhoto library. Only, when you edit the iPhoto library you create new files inside, and the owner of this file will be the account that created the file. And iPhoto stores new images inside the library with the permissions set to "Read&Write" for the owner, but only "Read" for others. So you will have to repair the permissions each time to be able to access files inside the library that have been edited from another account, unless ou have the "Ignore Ownership" flag set for the volume with the iPhoto library.

     

    then instead I get a locking problem even when the previous user has closed iphoto.

    If you are using MacOS X 10.7 or later, quitting iPhoto may not terminate the processes that are locking the application. You can only be sure that iPhoto really quits and releases the ressources, if you log off after using the library.

Actions

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Bookmarked By (0)

Legend

  • This solved my question - 10 points
  • This helped me - 5 points
This site contains user submitted content, comments and opinions and is for informational purposes only. Apple disclaims any and all liability for the acts, omissions and conduct of any third parties in connection with or related to your use of the site. All postings and use of the content on this site are subject to the Apple Support Communities Terms of Use.