Skip navigation

Restoring 'always ask before deleting photos'

407 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Aug 20, 2013 5:20 AM by beaujest11 RSS
Cloudyhead1 Calculating status...
Currently Being Moderated
Jul 1, 2013 2:05 AM

I am new to Imac and Iphoto. I turned off the 'always ask before deleting photos' as I was deleting alot. Now I think about it I would like it back on to avoid deleting in error and I can't see how to restore it. I have looked around in help and everywhere else I can think of - can anyone help please?

  • Terence Devlin Level 10 Level 10 (121,900 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 1, 2013 4:37 AM (in response to Cloudyhead1)

    Try trash the com.apple.iPhoto.plist file from the HD/Users/ Your Name / library / preferences folder.

     

    (On 10.7 or later: Hold the option (or alt) key while clicking on the Go menu in Finder to access the User Library)

     

    (Remember you'll need to reset your User options afterwards. These include minor settings like the window colour and so on. Note: If you've moved your library you'll need to point iPhoto at it again.)

     

    What's the plist file?

     

    For new users: Every application on your Mac has an accompanying plist file. It records certain User choices. For instance, in your favourite Word Processor it remembers your choice of Default Font, on your Web Browser is remembers things like your choice of Home Page. It even recalls what windows you had open last if your app allows you to pick up from where you left off last. The iPhoto plist file remembers things like the location of the Library, your choice of background colour, whether you are running a Referenced or Managed Library, what preferences you have for autosplitting events and so on. Trashing the plist file forces the app to generate a new one on the next launch, and this restores things to the Factory Defaults. Hence, if you've changed any of these things you'll need to reset them. If you haven't, then no bother. Trashing the plist file is Mac troubleshooting 101.p

  • beaujest11 Calculating status...
    Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 20, 2013 5:20 AM (in response to Cloudyhead1)

    If you don't want to blow away all your settings, you can also toggle the setting if you have XCode installed. Open the com.apple.iPhoto.plist file in HD/Users/{user}/library/preferences and change DontAskAboutDeleteConfirmation from YES to NO. The setting is about 40% of the way down the list.

     


Actions

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Bookmarked By (1)

Legend

  • This solved my question - 10 points
  • This helped me - 5 points
This site contains user submitted content, comments and opinions and is for informational purposes only. Apple disclaims any and all liability for the acts, omissions and conduct of any third parties in connection with or related to your use of the site. All postings and use of the content on this site are subject to the Apple Support Communities Terms of Use.