Skip navigation

Deleting photos, but keeping masters

343 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Oct 25, 2013 2:18 PM by léonie RSS
macorin Level 1 Level 1 (30 points)
Currently Being Moderated
Oct 25, 2013 10:17 AM

I want to trim the size of my Aperture Library by deleting photos, but I don't actually want to delete any master images from their referenced locations.  I want to keep all of my photos, just not all of then in Aperture.  How do I do this?

 

I currently use a referenced libray and wanted to trim the size of my library down.  I'd like to delete photos from Aperture, but want to maintain the master images in their current (referenced) location.  The only choices when deleting images seem to be Delete Version and Delete Original Image and All Versions.  My assumpton based on these two choices is to delete the version, but i'm wondering if this is actually correct based on what I am looking to do.

 

Thanks for the help, and other tips would be greatly appreciated.

MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009), OS X Mavericks (10.9), 2.93 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
  • Ernie Stamper Level 8 Level 8 (37,455 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 25, 2013 10:38 AM (in response to macorin)

    There must always be at least one Version related to any Master.  But this version is not a real image file, but simply the adjustment instructions associated, and the version takes up no significant space.  On the other hand, Previews are JPEG images, and do take space based upon the selection of size in the Preferences.

     

    There is no reason, nor way to not have at least one Version.  You can try to remove all Previews, but there is a discussion about whether 3.5 will or will not regenerate that.

     

    Ernie

  • léonie Level 8 Level 8 (46,560 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 25, 2013 10:48 AM (in response to macorin)

    Are your referenced originals on an external drive? In that case you will be given a choice, if you want to keep the referenced original image file, when you delete the image version.

  • léonie Level 8 Level 8 (46,560 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 25, 2013 11:00 AM (in response to macorin)

    My referenced originals are on an external drive.

    In that case, you can delete the versions and the referenced originals will stay in their current location, when you empty the Trash, for example:

    Screen Shot 2013-10-25 at 19.55.51GMT+2.png

    just uncheck the option: "Move referenced files to System Trash".

     

    The versions will be gone from the Aperture library, but the referenced files will stay in their folder on the external drive.

  • Ernie Stamper Level 8 Level 8 (37,455 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 25, 2013 11:02 AM (in response to léonie)

    But they will no longer be Referenced anywhere in Aperture.

     

    Ernie

  • léonie Level 8 Level 8 (46,560 points)
    Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 25, 2013 2:18 PM (in response to macorin)

    So by doing what you suggest, I will be removing everything associated with the version, while at the same time keeping the master in it's original location?

    yes.

    Will this remove the previews, etc?  I still want the images to have previews in the finder.

    Aperture's previews will have been deleted with the versions. This will only save the originals.

Actions

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Bookmarked By (0)

Legend

  • This solved my question - 10 points
  • This helped me - 5 points
This site contains user submitted content, comments and opinions and is for informational purposes only. Apple disclaims any and all liability for the acts, omissions and conduct of any third parties in connection with or related to your use of the site. All postings and use of the content on this site are subject to the Apple Support Communities Terms of Use.