Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Help with importing PC photo files and then organizing it all in iPhoto

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to mac but I am just loving my purchase! I need some serious help with getting all of my photos organized though so I can easily find it for editing in iMovie.

I've accumulated over 10,000 photos stored on my PC which I've since transferred over to my LaCie external drive for my MacBook Pro via a wireless network connecting my PC & Mac. Some of these I've put onto my laptop internal hard drive and those I've imported into the iPhoto library. However, do I need to move the rest of the photos from my LaCie drive into my internal hard drive to import the photos into iPhoto, or can I tell iPhoto to look for the files in the external drive. If so, how do I do that? I know I'll then have to create albums in order to sort them, which I know how to do. Is there any fast way to do it by date? I had it sorted into different file folders by month & year so I could easily find them on my PC and would like to do the same using albums.

I am quickly running out of hard drive space on my laptop which is why I've put most of my photos on the external drive. Once I organize my existing collection, I would like to be able to import new pictures and have it stored on my external drive, not my internal drive. How do I do that?

Any other tips on organizing a massive photo library would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Karen

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.4.9), PC Desktop with WinXP

Posted on Jul 8, 2007 8:39 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 8, 2007 9:24 PM

Karen