Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is there a Multilingual Support for Tiger?

I am just about to buy a new MacBook. I live in Ireland and I am Greek so I would love my menus and Applications to be in Greek.

Nevertheless a ordering a new MacBook from the Greek Store will cost me about 500€ more (I am a student and I qualify for discount in Ireland + a higher VAT in greek products + shipping) so I was wondering if there is a chance for me to switch the Irish purchased MacBook with its English OS to Greek.

Thanx!

None..Yet!, Windows XP

Posted on Aug 19, 2007 11:00 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 19, 2007 11:42 AM

Yes OS X supports language and keyboard localizations. However, Macs will have keyboards that are specific to the country in which they are sold. If you buy a Mac in Ireland it will have a UK-specific keyboard.

I suggest you visit an Apple retailer and have this demonstrated for you so you can decide if it will work to your satisfaction.

I would also check your customs requirements for bringing the item back to Greece. You may still have to pay import duties and taxes that would make it less feasible to purchase in Ireland.
8 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 19, 2007 11:42 AM in response to BSpiros

Yes OS X supports language and keyboard localizations. However, Macs will have keyboards that are specific to the country in which they are sold. If you buy a Mac in Ireland it will have a UK-specific keyboard.

I suggest you visit an Apple retailer and have this demonstrated for you so you can decide if it will work to your satisfaction.

I would also check your customs requirements for bringing the item back to Greece. You may still have to pay import duties and taxes that would make it less feasible to purchase in Ireland.

Aug 21, 2007 7:38 AM in response to Kappy