Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

BUSINESS TRAVELER: Dealing with time zones

I travel for a living, and see several time zones each day.
The time zone support provided by Apple provides is a partial solution, but does not yet solve the problem.

If you don't leave your time zone too often, then you probably never thought much about the problem. But for those of us who do, there are basically two types of ZONERS.

1. Somebody who works simultaneously with people in different time zones. ZONE-NETWORKERS
2. People who travel in several time zones, but works locally in each zone. ZONE-HOPPERS

ZONE-NETWORKERS:
These guys reference one UNIVERSAL time, because they work simultaneously with people all over the world. They want to schedule a phone meeting at 4pm NYC time, and be sure the guys from Los Angeles get the invite for a 1pm meeting. ZONE-NETWORKERS do care about time zones, and everything they schedule is relative to a universal time. As they travel to different time zones, their scheduled events shift time (as they should) so that the phone conference is done at the proper world-wide time. Every time they land in a new city, the events on their Calendar should change. These guys can either use the default modes of iCal, or can enhance their usage by selecting "TIME ZONE SUPPORT" in the options. This feature seems to work for both iCal and iPhone.

ZONE-HOPPERS: