This discussion is archived

Help Needed With Online Video Content

1598 Views 17 Replies Latest reply: Jan 24, 2008 8:10 PM by arri RSS
1 2 Previous Next
SuaveBhav Calculating status...
Currently Being Moderated
Jan 9, 2008 9:05 AM
Hi All,

I am fairly new to Mac's and have a MBP 2.2 with Tiger installed. I have Safari & Firefox installed for web browsers. My software is all up to date. I am finding that most times (but not all) I have great difficulty in viewing any online video's from websites - it either takes an absolute age to load, loads a bit at a time, repetitively freezes & starts, breaks up or won't load at all. I would say it happens about 80% of the time. I have tried to do what little I can with my very novice knowledge of computers and the Mac system but this is just as bad as it was when I was on a PC.

I have checked adobe flash player and am up to date and only have either Safari or Firefox on at any one time with no other programmes running. My activity monitor usually shows that the CPU is idle between 85% and 95%.

I found a programme called Speedbit but it only works for PC's (I would have to find that after I had made the switch to Mac's!) but I cannot find anything similar for Mac's.

Can anyone please help me out as I am at a loss. Why is this happening and what is the solution? Please feel free to give me guidance and instructions as if I were a complete idiot! This is really doing my head in!

Thank You,

SuaveBhav!
MacBook Pro 3.1, Mac OS X (10.4.11), 15"/Intel 2.2 Core2Duo/120GB HDD
  • Klaus1 Level 8 Level 8 (43,490 points)
    Jan 9, 2008 9:20 AM (in response to SuaveBhav)
    These are the downloads and the settings you need in order to view/hear pretty much everything that the net can throw at you: The setup described below has proved repeatedly successful on both PPC and Intel macs, but nothing in life carries a guarantee!