Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Using Applescript to edit a .vcs file

I need to edit the text of an iCal format .vcs file. I'm a REAL NEWBIE to Applescript. So far, I've been able to figure out how to get Applescript to open the file to import it into iCal. What I WANT to be able to do is to use Applescript to edit .vcs files that were exported from another application BEFORE I add them to my iCal. I know the .vcs files can be treated as straight text by Applescript/TextEdit. Here is some example text content from one of these files:

BEGIN:VCALENDAR
VERSION:1.0
BEGIN:VEVENT
DTStart:20051027T134500Z
DTEnd:20051027T164500Z
LOCATION;ENCODING=QUOTED-PRINTABLE:Elluminate Live!
SUMMARY;ENCODING=QUOTED-PRINTABLE: WEBQUEST TESTING
DESCRIPTION;ENCODING=QUOTED-PRINTABLE:To attend this session please goto: https://xxx.xxxx.xxxx
PRIORITY:3
END:VEVENT
END:VCALENDAR

The text after the SUMMARY;ENCODING=QUOTED-PRINTABLE: and

DESCRIPTION;ENCODING=QUOTED-PRINTABLE

Is varialble text that changes with each .vcs event that is created. I want to be able to either a) change that following text to something standard or (if that is not possible) b) remove the variable text altogether.

Could anyone give me any pointers about how that could be done?

Thanks

Posted on Oct 27, 2005 2:30 PM

3 replies

Oct 27, 2005 5:10 PM in response to Tyson Brown

Hi Tyson,

This will modify the content of a file in the way you wish. I can't create a true .vcs file to test import. Hope it helps (I'm a bit rusty).

set VCS_file to choose file
set the_text to read VCS_file
set parcount to count paragraphs in the_text
set nu_text to ""
set {oldtids, AppleScript's text item delimiters} to {AppleScript's text item delimiters, ":"}
repeat with x from 1 to parcount
set nextpar to paragraph x of the_text
if nextpar begins with "SUMMARY" then set nextpar to text item 1 of nextpar & ":something"