Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

G4 / Samsung 206BW LCD : stretched only, non extended not working

Hi,

I have a Samsung Syncmaster 206BW (22" wide, 1680*1050 native resolution) plugged on my MDD G4 with DVI (not working with VGA because the Radeon 9000 Pro only manages 4/3 modes in analog).
In the monitors panel settings in OSX (Tiger and Leopard) i see two modes for some resolutions : for example 1024*768 and 1024*768 (extended). However with the two modes the image is stretched to fit the screen. The first (not extented) should add black pixels to around the centered image, and it does'nt work.
So i can't use games in 1024*768 or other 4/3 low res (my G4 can't use the native resolution for games, too much resource heavy).
I tried turning on the monitor after the mac but it is the same, tu non extended mode is managed the same way as the extended mode (stretched).
Is there an utility for mac (as Catalyst Control Center on PCs) to force the monitor to accept unstretched mode ? There isn't any mode setting on the LCD settings. Some say this is a known problem with Samsung LCDs.

Should i return it and buy another LCD ? It this the same with Apple LCD displays ?
I use a Belkin 3m DVI-D wire on both sides.

Thank by advance.

G4 MDD 1,25 Radeon 9000 Pro, Mac OS X (10.5.1), G4 MDD 1,25Ghz Radeon 9000 Pro

Posted on Jan 20, 2008 9:17 AM

11 replies

Jan 20, 2008 3:33 PM in response to Malcolm Rayfield

Hi, thank you a lot for you quick response, but i can't fix it however.