Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

What happens when TM hard drive gets full?

Hello,
I am new to Time Machine. In fact, I just installed my new ext. hard drive that I have dedicated for the time machine and it ran the first backup consuming about 40 GBs. I know that each subsequent backup will only reflect any changes since the most recent backup, so they will be much smaller, but I am wondering what happens when the external hard drive is eventually full?
Does Time Machine cycle on itself and begin recording over the oldest data? or does it just open a window telling me that the disc is full? If that is the case, what do I do when the disc is full? Do I erase everything and start over? Or do I need to buy a new harddrive and store the original one forever? I would prefer to record over the oldest data if this is an option. My guess is that if I haven't needed something for the past year or so, then I probably don't need it.

Any insight would be appreciated,

Lincoln

iMac, Mac OS X (10.5.1), 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

Posted on Feb 15, 2008 10:31 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 15, 2008 10:42 PM

As the external drive becomes full, Time Machine will delete backups that have barely any information that has changed, and in doing so, it will condense all older data into nothing and it will be deleted. When Time Machine notices that the drive is full, it doesn't bother to ask you if you want to erase older backups, as to which would become a problem where people would erase some data that Time Machine needs (it becomes picky and will become panicky if something is changed by another user(ie you)) and all it does is alert you that it will erase backups and it will keep on trucking with automated backups for life.