Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Product registration and warranty??

I recently bought an iMac from Craigslist. The seller assured me that the unit was legit and had about 8 months left on the warranty. He did not have the original bill of sale, since he himself bought it from someone else.

When I asked if the unit 'fell off the truck', he said no.. that he verified the serial number with Apple and that it was a legitimate, not-stolen product. When I asked about the warranty, he said that it was registered with Apple, that I did not need to worry, since they had a record of the registration and knew when the warranty expires; he said the registration is with the unit, not the owner.

I am new to Apple, so I do not know how true all this is. Is there a way for me to verify my iMac is not hot? That it is still under warranty, and when the warranty expires? The seller lead me to believe this information was available for me to verify on the Apple site, but I cannot find it anywhere.

IMac 24, Mac OS X (10.5.2)

Posted on Feb 20, 2008 8:51 AM

3 replies

Feb 20, 2008 9:46 AM in response to pilaar39

Registering the computer in no way affects the warranty. Apple likes to collect marketing information on people but the warranty is in effect, by law, regardless of any "registration".

Now, to address you question specifically. Apple reserves the right to require a proof of purchase in the event of warranty work. This goes for AppleCare also. When you register AppleCare (the extended warranty), they simply ask you for the date on your bill of sale, or receipt, with the disclaimer I mentioned above. I recently had warranty done at an Apple Store and they did not ask for the invoice, although they could have and refused to cover the work if I could not prove the date the computer was purchased.