Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

port-forwarding or UPnP on VERIZON FIOS modem/router

I'm trying to help someone access his home network remotely from another location. he just got the new Verizon FIOS network.

i'm new to the world of port-forwarding and UPnP forwarding, but have learned a lot in a short period of time.

I can easily setup port-forwarding and UPnP forwarding (necessary to setup the afp file sharing, screen sharing, etc) on Linksys routers that have those capabilities.

My friend just got the new Verizon FIOS network installed. It is smoking fast both up and down. We figured out that the box Verizon provided him (it's a fairly huge thing) is an internet modem, a router, and a wireless router all in one.

And once we accessed its control panel, I definitely saw places where we could configure port-forwarding........

but it's not quite as straightforward as it is on a Linksys router in that, on a Linksys, if I want to open a specific port, like 5900, for screen sharing, I can easily type in the numbers 5900 and type the IP address of the computer on my LAN that I wish to forward port 5900 traffic to.......or I can do this with UPnP forwarding....either way it is simply and fully controllable.

But on this Verizon box, it seems to have most standard ports and protocols stored in presets that you must choose from. For example, if I wanted to setup port forwarding for FTP traffic, I would choose FTP from the dropdown menu and then the router would automatically know to forward port 21 to the computer of my choice.