Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Remapping keys in Terminal

I'm new to the mac.

When I work from home, I need to access my company network and login to Unix boxes there. I use Terminal for this and have it set to emulate a VT100, which is necessary for the text editor that I use. This particular editor makes heavy use of the upper row of keys on the numeric keypad, which sadly don't emulate a VT100.

I noticed a way to remap some of the keys in Preferences, but I'm not sure how to use it or if it will allow me to remap those keys. Can anybody point me to instructions for remapping those keys to the VT100 PF1 - PF4 values?

Thanks from a newbie!

iMac, Mac OS X (10.5.2)

Posted on Apr 3, 2008 10:03 AM

6 replies

Apr 4, 2008 4:10 AM in response to raulfoonman

Wouldn't it be easier, to just use the Apple_Terminal, terminfo definition on the mac. and also make that definition available on the unix systems that you have to login into?

Just curious which editor?

Nevermind, that idea, I just tried it using vi and function keys. setting the TERM=vt100, and running tset worked. but not using the Apple_Terminal.

Message was edited by: Nils C. Anderson

Apr 4, 2008 4:36 AM in response to Nils C. Anderson

In the Terminal.app preferences, I just did the following. it works for me.

i just assigned a string to the 'control cursor down' and the 'control cursor up' key

export TERM=vt100;tset $TERM

setenv TERM vt100;tset $TERM

Then after logging in to the remote system. just hitting key control cursor up or down key sets the terminal to vt100. and the function keys work in the vi/vim editor.

i use 2 keys, as some of the systems that I login to are using csh and other bash or korn.

Apr 4, 2008 10:46 AM in response to Nils C. Anderson

Thanks for the replies.