Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Calling Objective C from C++

Hi Guys,

First of all forgive my ignorance I am new to Cocoa and Objective C.

Basically I am trying to get some existing C++ code working with a Cocoa front end using Objective C.

I can access objects in C++ from Objective C but cannot work out how to access Objective C objects from C++.

The C++ classes are defined in standard C++ .h and .cpp files. Do I have to wrap them in .m files?

And tips would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Andy

Message was edited by: AndrewCapon

Posted on Apr 9, 2008 4:49 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 9, 2008 7:01 AM

You have a couple of options. You could use Objective-C++, using .mm files and then you could go back and forth relatively transparently. There are some restrictions between the two types of objects, so don't get too fancy.

A more traditional option is to provide a pure C interface to your C++ and use that.

Personally, I always use Objective-C++. I don't really use C++ anymore but I do like declaring variables only when I need them instead at the top of every code block.
13 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 9, 2008 7:01 AM in response to AndrewCapon

You have a couple of options. You could use Objective-C++, using .mm files and then you could go back and forth relatively transparently. There are some restrictions between the two types of objects, so don't get too fancy.

A more traditional option is to provide a pure C interface to your C++ and use that.

Personally, I always use Objective-C++. I don't really use C++ anymore but I do like declaring variables only when I need them instead at the top of every code block.

Apr 9, 2008 8:38 AM in response to etresoft

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Using just objective c++ is out of the window as this app needs to run on multiple operating systems/windowing systems.