Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Itunes Connect Tax Information

Hi,

I'm an individual developer from germany (no company) and I want to sell my app via the AppStore.

Does anybody know if I need an ITIN (Individual Taxpayer Identification Number)? If so, what do I have to do?

What is the Reference Number good for?

Do I have to fill in something in Line 10?

Any help would be appreciated!

Antworten auch gerne auf deutsch 😉

MacBook Pro 15", Mac OS X (10.4.7), 2,16GHz 2GB RAM 100GB

Posted on Jul 14, 2008 12:50 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 17, 2008 9:59 AM

I went to the US embassy in London to see what I needed to do. They will only issue an ITIN if accompanied by a signed letter from Apple on an Apple letterhead stating that I will be earning money in the US. I've tried enquiring at Apple to see about the possibility of getting this, but it doesn't look promising.

The other option is an EIN (there is a link on iTunes connect to the SS-4 form for applying for this), but this is intended for companies, not individuals. However, the form says "certain individuals" can apply for an EIN. I am going to phone someone at the IRS to inquire about this. I understand you will need to do an annual US tax return too.

Michael.
56 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 17, 2008 9:59 AM in response to trumi

I went to the US embassy in London to see what I needed to do. They will only issue an ITIN if accompanied by a signed letter from Apple on an Apple letterhead stating that I will be earning money in the US. I've tried enquiring at Apple to see about the possibility of getting this, but it doesn't look promising.