Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Working mac system/solution for Canon XL2 MiniDV footage.

Hello,

Thanks everyone in advance for your help. I am an experienced still photographer with just a little bit of video/film experience. I recently purchased a Canon XL2 miniDV camcorder. I have an older
G4 Mac Pro laptop(1.5Ghz Power PC w/1GB RAM). I plan on buying a new computer to edit footage from the Canon XL2.

I chose the Canon based on price and 24P frame rate options. Is anyone out there using this camera,shooting in 24P modes, and editing on a Mac?

What new Mac would you recommend (tower, imac, or laptop), and how much RAM do I need/want.
Will Final Cut Express work with 24P frame rates from the Canon? Would you recommend Final Cut
Studio instead of FCE?

Thanks,
--ucityxl

G4 Power PC laptop, Mac OS X (10.5.4)

Posted on Jul 22, 2008 10:28 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 22, 2008 5:46 PM

I have been editing XL1s on a G4 tower with 2 gig RAM on FCP without any problem a couple of years ago.
Now I am editing on a lowly MacBook 2.4 in FCE. Footage from the XL1s works like like a breeze. However, I haven't used 24p, so I can't comment on this one.
IMHO, you only need FCS if you do highly professional work (broadcast, big screen). For anything else, FCS is overkill.
7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 22, 2008 5:46 PM in response to ucityxl

I have been editing XL1s on a G4 tower with 2 gig RAM on FCP without any problem a couple of years ago.
Now I am editing on a lowly MacBook 2.4 in FCE. Footage from the XL1s works like like a breeze. However, I haven't used 24p, so I can't comment on this one.
IMHO, you only need FCS if you do highly professional work (broadcast, big screen). For anything else, FCS is overkill.

Jul 23, 2008 9:29 AM in response to cgbier

Thanks cgbier for your comments and help.