9 Replies Latest reply: Aug 28, 2008 6:42 AM by Build
Build Level 1 (0 points)
Hello–
Since upgrading my 3G iPhone to 2.0.2 (5C1) the 'Forget this network' option is not there in the 'Wi-Fi Networks' screen.
It's very annoying to say the least, anyone else have this problem?
Any solutions??

Thanks in advance.

iMac 24", Mac OS X (10.5.4), 3G iPhone
  • DaleKKiller Level 1 (60 points)
    Is it missing when you select the network that you actually want to forget? I know I needed to ditch a network and the forget option was there when I selected the network in question.
  • Build Level 1 (0 points)
    Hello Dale–
    Yes, it used to be at the top of that screen but it's not there anymore. I checked with a friend in the States who checked a friends 3G iPhone and the option was there. It just seems a little weird that the option has disappeared since upgrading to 2.0.2.
    -
  • Build Level 1 (0 points)
    Screen shot of a randomly selected network i'd like to 'forget'–
    http://www.wearebuild.com/temporary/wi-fi.jpg
  • neuroanatomist Level 7 (31,690 points)
    It's there for me on both the iPhone 3G and iPod Touch running 2.0.2.

    Note that you *must actually _be connected_ to the network* in order for the Forget this Network option to be available. It's only available when you're connected to that network, and only for that network. Since no IP address is shows in your screenshot, you are NOT connected to that network.

    See this linked screenshot for an example of what that settings screen looks like when connected or not connected to a specific network.
  • Build Level 1 (0 points)
    That makes sense, thank you.
    The scenario i'm talking about is this - I'm at home, my home wi-fi isn't on so my phone asks me if i want to join a nearby network, this network is one i don't want to join (i also don't have the password for this network) so i say no. Before 2.0 & 2.0.2 i'm sure i would be able to go 'Settings' > WiFi > 'Choose a Network' > Find the network i don't want to join > tap the blue arrow > the click 'Forget this Network'. This would then stop my phone asking if i want to join this network.
    From what you are saying (i think), is that i must connect to that network before i can instruct my phone to forget it?
    -
  • neuroanatomist Level 7 (31,690 points)
    Yes, you must connect to the network in order to Forget it. That has always been the case (i.e. It did not change with 2.0.2, has been like that since 1.x).
  • Nathan C Level 5 (6,260 points)
    Build,

    Turn off "Ask to Join Networks" on the Settings -> WiFi screen.

    Forget this network is to prevent it from rejoining a network you have previously joined, not to keep it from offering the network if "Ask to Join Networks" is on.

    Hope this helps,

    Nathan C.
  • Build Level 1 (0 points)
    Ah OK thenm, my mistake.
    Cheers,
    M
  • Build Level 1 (0 points)
    Aah!
    That makes perfect sense (doh), i just assumed that 'Ask to Join Networks' meant that the phone would ask you if you wanted to, but would join automatically if you switched that off. Thick i know
    -
    All sorted then, thanks Nathan, Neuroanatomist!

    M