Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Trying to import mp4

I'm using FCEHD 3.5.1. I have hired a firm to transfer well over 200 hours of home video to DVD. They sent me four sample files (mp4s) to see which works best with my FCE. It took over 15 minutes to render a 2 minute file (neither first.mp4). Surely there must be a drag and drop format i can receive these videos in. If a 2 minute clip takes 15 minutes, my 2 hour dvds will take forever. Please help me with tech info so i can direct this firm.

The formats they supplied me so far are:
adaptive.mp4, lower first.mp4, neither first.mp4, upper first.mp4. The only one that worked was neither first and that was after the long render.

Should i upgrade to FCE 4 ? As you can see, i'm a newbie so all help is appreciated.

Jimmy

Many, Mac OS X (10.4.11)

Posted on Sep 2, 2008 5:43 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 2, 2008 6:23 PM

Welcome to the forum!

The version of FCE that you have works natively with DV and HDV. FCE 4 works natively with DV, HDV and AVCHD. No versions of FCE (that I'm aware of) work with MPEG-4 natively. It is generally considered a delivery codec and not suitable for editing - without extensive conversion (as you've discovered) and quality loss.

Why are they sending you MPEG-4 files anyway? Don't they have the stuff on VHS or 8mm?

-DH
5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Sep 2, 2008 6:23 PM in response to JimmyZCCK

Welcome to the forum!

The version of FCE that you have works natively with DV and HDV. FCE 4 works natively with DV, HDV and AVCHD. No versions of FCE (that I'm aware of) work with MPEG-4 natively. It is generally considered a delivery codec and not suitable for editing - without extensive conversion (as you've discovered) and quality loss.

Why are they sending you MPEG-4 files anyway? Don't they have the stuff on VHS or 8mm?

-DH

Sep 2, 2008 6:59 PM in response to David Harbsmeier