Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time Machine backs up but history is not visible

Here's the situation: I just got a LaCie 2Big-triple 2TB disk, connected it via FireWire-800, set it up in RAID-1 for mirroring, and made a partition for Time Machine (650GB) and one for files I'm happy just trusting to the redundancy of the RAID disk (350GB). I've got my MacBook Pro (new model 15") 320GB internal hard disk, as well as a 250 GB external USB disk. I've removed the USB disk from the TM exclusion list.

I'm a programmer, and so is my roommate, and while this is my first Mac, he's had them for years. He instructed me to create a sparse bundle on the Time Machine drive with the following command:

hdiutil create -fs HFS+J -volname "Backup of Tristan's HD" myhostname_00224126dcaa.sparsebundle

I copied it to the TM partition and all seemed to be well. The initial backup took a few hours, and copied about 240GB. After that, backups have been going as normal every hour and seem to be successful and working well.

Mounting the sparse bundle, I can see all of the backup folders time and date stamped correctly. I even moved many files around on the USB disk, and backups (in the sparse bundle image) before and after the move show them at that point in time and look great.

However, I cannot see any of this in the Time Machine history view. I only see the current version, the front folder. When I go to the USB disk, I can't see any windows "behind" the current version, even though I know there were files changed between backups, and I can even see that in the sparse bundle.