Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

AT&T DSL Wireless Issues

I recently shifted my Internet Service from Comcast Cable to AT&T DSL (which i now regret!) and since then I have been having problems connecting to Internet through my Wireless Router (Linksys WRT54G). The AT&T provided DSL modem is Motorola 2210-02. I do not have a problem getting access to Internet when I directly connect my computer to the DSL Modem. However, I am facing access issues in both 'wired' and 'wireless' mode when trying to connect through the Linksys router. I'm not very tech savvy but I suspect it has got to be some conflict with the IP address... AT&T's tech support does not want to help as the internet service is not affected... atleast, directly. Did anyone encounter similar issues?... should I must manually enter the IP address instead of allowing it to automatically assign... Any help is highly appreciated. Thanks.

Motorola DSL 2210-02, Mac OS X (10.5.5), Macbook Pro, Mac Mini, iPod Nano

Posted on Nov 2, 2008 6:09 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 2, 2008 6:25 PM

should I must manually enter the IP address instead of allowing it to automatically assign

*_Ask AT&T_* if you have a fixed or dynamic IP address. Generally, most ISPs use the DHCP (dynamic) address assignment. (If you have DHCP, you cannot enter the address into the LinkSys router.

However, it is also possible to have a fixed (or static) IP address. If you have a static address, you must enter the assigned IP address (and subnet and gateway and DNS server addresses) into the router.

Press and hold the reset button on the LinkSys router and start fresh on the configuration. If the LinkSys was configured to work properly with Comcast, it may require different settings to work properly with AT&T.