Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Sound card pops randomly

Hello,

Just got a new 15 inch MBP ... While using regular applications like Safari, Messenger and Mail I noticed that the soundcard pops when using the headphone jack with external speakers every once in a while (could be even on on-board speakers but i'm not sure).

Also, when using headphones I noticed a very subtle noise that goes silent after a certain amount of time of inactivity on the computer.

I'm a music producer so this matters to me as my previous Powerbook never had this type of behavior.

Thanks!

-F

MBP Late 2008, Mac OS X (10.5.5)

Posted on Nov 4, 2008 12:39 PM

16 replies

Nov 20, 2008 2:51 PM in response to Identiti

Maybe your problem comes from the Power Setting, sometimes the audio seems to turn on/off, and it pops at the beginning of a track, not in the middle.

Mine is different, it is more like the one anothertime reported. And the good news is that my laptop seems to be OK. Well, I have quickly tried with a headphone and the audio out is good. It is also good with the internal speakers and a little USB XT system.

My conclusion is that is the jack of my primary audio system. It is weird, beacuse this jack is good and the audio system works fine with a Powerbook and other stuff. Anyway, that jack does not work with my MacBook Pro. I don't know why, but if it is just that one, it doesn't really matter, I will change it... The audio out of the MacBook Pro works with everything else. My excuses to Apple ^_^

Dec 17, 2008 10:06 AM in response to anothertime

This problem has annoyed me enough that I've done a bit of troubleshooting.

The symptoms of my problem are similar to those of the original poster (anothertime) -- with one caveat: it's hardly random.

It is absolutely reproduceable.