Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Scratch disks & Startup Disk FULL---WHAT DO I DO??

Ok, I am a graphic designer and have never had this problem. I am fairly proficient with my computer, but some things I'm not sure how to fix properly.

So I keep getting an error message telling me that both my startup disk and my scratch disks are full and that the program needs to close, and I need to delete files from my hard drive. I get this part. I have deleted files and I own a 500GB iBook external hard drive I keep any and all files that are completed on this external.

I have read through some other forums with people in similar situations, and I just frankly not sure what all of it means.

Is my scratch disk and my startup disk different?

What do I need to do besides deleting files off and onto my external, Is there some sort of secret folder i need to clean?

I run Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign regularly but those are really the only large programs in use. i even went as far as to move the rest of my Adobe Suite (Dreamweaver, Flash and others) off my laptop hard drive to my external just because I won't be using those anytime soon.

i have also read around about some people hooking their external up with the system prefs to do something with that...is that a solution? and how do I do that?

I think it all has just confused me even further into what is the proper way to fix all of this. I am alot better with computers than most women, but even this has thrown me for a loop! Help would be much appreciated!

Current HD-
HD Capacity: 74.41 GB
Used HD: 73.7GB
Available: 723.3 MB

PowerBookg4, Mac OS X (10.4.2)

Posted on Nov 6, 2008 2:52 PM

Question marked as Best reply