Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

why can't I sign on for webmail?

I recently tried to install a new Netgear wireless router from my Mac. This failed and invoked the "Network Settings have changed" glitsch, which I resolved. From that time (I think) I have been unable to log in to two email accounts, one for my website (Mail) and one for client site webmail (Safari) (I am a freelancer). Another client's webmail on Outlook Web Access works ok.

In Mail I get "the connection to the server timed out" and on the Safari Webmail I get "could not log on with the information supplied" (though it works on other machines).

I switched the port to 587 for my website account and that made no difference.

I don't want to delete the plist files from Library as it is the current settings that are wrong. Or is that the best next step?

thanks

Otherwise, internet and Mail for my other POP and IMAP accounts are working fine.

MacBookPro, Mac OS X (10.4.11)

Posted on Dec 10, 2008 4:33 AM

10 replies

Dec 11, 2008 3:07 PM in response to Nicholas Russell

Hi dustyfeet, and a warm welcome to the forums! 🙂

Open Keychain Access in Utilities, use Keychain First Aid under the Window Menu item, then either check the Password under that item, change it, or delete it and start over.

Maybe, Go to System Preferences: Security. Check the box next to "Require password to unlock each secure system preference." Then lock Security.

Jan 12, 2009 1:51 AM in response to BDAqua

I have a website that a friend set up for me, on which I have a POP account. I have set it up as an account in Mail, and although the username and password are correct, it won't work. It does on my iphone however, so it's not the account/server.