You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple ID, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Help using a Roland Edirol R-09 with Garageband (kinda bootleg)

Being a career musician, I'm pretty low on funds and I was trying to figure out a cheap way to record music. I used to do this on my old computer (which was a PC) and I never had any problems, and I was wondering if anyone stumbled across anything similar:

I have an Edirol R-09, which is not an A/D converter or an audio interface - its primary use is for recording and storing - i.e. it has two stereo mics built into it and an SD card inside, so I can, for example, record my band's show and later connect it to my computer and it acts as a hard drive. I simply take the files from the SD storage, put them on my computer, and do any audio effecting (EQ, levels, etc) after. However, I got this bright idea which I tried on my old computer:

I wanted to start multi-tracking while recording my own songs (i.e. record drums, then bass, guitar, etc in a program such as ProTools). On my old PC, I had Cool Edit Pro, and I simply connected an 1/8" stereo cable from the headphone jack on my Edirol into the 1/8" stereo input on my computer, and used it as a sort of bootleg A/D converter. It all worked fine, besides being slightly inconvenient. Through Cool Edit, I was simply using my Edirol as a microphone, and then I could multitrack, do bass, vocals, whatever else I needed.