Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple Mail, Verizon email and outgoing mail server error

I have searched the web and this forum to no avail, so here is the problem.

I am new to Verizon. I have my account configured properly with Apple Mail. When I try to send mail I get an outgoing mail server error:

The sender address me@verizon.net was rejected by the server outgoing.verizon.net.

Verizon tech support wont help, they want you to check your email online and do not support email clients.

I have set up my email with Thunderbird and it works perfectly.

I also have noted occasionally that my iphone states that there is an invalid name or pw when checking my verizon email, but it will get the mail most of the time.

Any suggestions? Solutions? Is it just that Apple mail and Verizon wont work well together or is there a setting tweak that I am missing here?

Thanks......

mbp C2D 15", 2.40, 160 gig hd, Mac OS X (10.4.10)

Posted on Mar 9, 2009 12:27 PM

8 replies

Mar 10, 2009 5:36 PM in response to ssh Mac

I have considered this, but it is a real pain to keep switching your primary email address as you could imagine. I had been with comcast for several years and then changed to verizon b/c comcast's customer service and phone service was atrocious. So I switched everything over to verizon and now i simply can't get it to work reliably, except on Thunderbird. The mystery question is how does it work on their application and not on Apple's?

Mar 10, 2009 7:17 PM in response to Docal97

For Verizon, use the following settings:

server name: outgoing.verizon.net
ports: use default ports (25, 465, 587)
authentication: password
username: your.address@verizon.net
password: yourVerizonPassword

For the record, Verizon does support connections from e-mail clients. They generally don't know Apple Mail, and they don't support secure sockets layer.

Mar 12, 2009 6:44 PM in response to ntexasmom