Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

print size won't fit paper

I'm trying to print a 4x6 photo onto a 4x6 piece of glossy paper. I selected the size to print for a 4x6 as well. Before it prints, a window pops up saying "The selected print size will not fit on the current paper size." I just want the program to adjust the picture to fit. Is there some way I can crop the picture and know it will fit? What else can I do to make sure it will fit? By the way, I'm new to Macs and this is my first time to try to print. Therefore please respond in easy terms and vocab.

Posted on Jul 14, 2005 10:16 PM

4 replies

Aug 28, 2005 2:29 PM in response to Karen Dusek

I have been using iPhoto 4 and 5 (now using 5.0.4) for a while to organize photos, email them, burn them on DVD's, but have only done a little printing as our printer was not that great. We have just got a new one (HP Photosmart 2610). Out of the box this printer and its accompanying Windows software printed some great borderless 4x6 prints on our home computer running Windows ME. To my chagrin, I had a lot of trouble getting it to work with iPhoto.

Having installed the HP software, I am able to see, in Page Setup, the whole range of papers supported by the printer when I pick it from the list of printers. I pick 4x6 or 4x6 borderless. Then I go to Print ... and choose Standard Prints. If I pick 4x6, then instead of a preview in the little pane on the left, I get text that reads, "The selected print size will not fit the current paper size". I can pick 3x5 or 2x3 and the preview looks right, a little image in a bigger (ie 4x6) shape. Why does iPhoto think a 4x6 print is too big for 4x6 paper?