Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Question:

Question: Reset Network settings to default

I want to reset my network settings to the way they were when the computer was new. I think all this involves is deleting a .plst file? I am not sure. Can anyone provide me with step by step directions.

IMAC, Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted on Mar 19, 2009 7:59 PM

Reply
Question marked as Helpful

Mar 19, 2009 8:07 PM in response to Mark Mester In response to Mark Mester

Navigate to the /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/ folder and delete:

com.apple.airport.preferences.plist
preferences.plist

In /Home/Library/Preferences/ByHost delete:

com.apple.preference.internet.xxxxxxxxxx.plist

Restart the computer.

Mar 19, 2009 8:07 PM

There’s more to the conversation

Read all replies
Question marked as Helpful

Mar 19, 2009 8:07 PM in response to Mark Mester In response to Mark Mester

Navigate to the /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/ folder and delete:

com.apple.airport.preferences.plist
preferences.plist

In /Home/Library/Preferences/ByHost delete:

com.apple.preference.internet.xxxxxxxxxx.plist

Restart the computer.

Mar 19, 2009 8:07 PM

Reply Helpful (6)

Mar 19, 2009 10:28 PM in response to Kappy In response to Kappy

It did not work. I tried deleting com.apple.NetworkUtility.plist and I am still connecting to the internet. Then I tried com.apple.airportutility.plist (I could not find the one that you said airport.preferences) and then I tried com.apple.preference.internet.xxxxxxxxxx.plist. None of this worked. I am still connected to the internet with my old configuration. Any ideas as to what I am doing wrong?

Mar 19, 2009 10:28 PM

Reply Helpful

Mar 21, 2009 8:46 AM in response to baltwo In response to baltwo

The reason I want to reset it is because I think I accidentally deleted the automatic option in the locations area. What I would like to do is just go into edit locations and choose automatic but that option is not there. I just have one location in the edit locations box and I can't delete one location. At least it does not give me the option to delete the one location. Would resetting it bring back the Automatic option or because I deleted that does that mean I can't get that back?

Mar 21, 2009 8:46 AM

Reply Helpful
User profile for user: Mark Mester

Question: Reset Network settings to default