Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Playing MKV files in Front Row

Hi,
I am pretty new in Mac so I need your help.
I would like to play MKV files in frontrow and could not.
I installed VLC and from the VLC I can play those files. Hence from the Front Row (or from the Quick Time, which are using to my understanding the same codecs) I can not.
Please advise,
Gadi.

Mac Mini, Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted on Apr 10, 2009 12:30 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 11, 2009 6:16 AM

Hi

I don't think you can play MKV in Front Row. You need to get them into iTunes and the easiest thing I've seen to do this is VideoMonkey. It's free and will recode your MKV files into MOV files and then automatically add them to iTunes (you can tell it that the files are TV shows or movies so they show up in the right section)

Lastly it can also delete your orginals if you want and carry out batch conversions. Highly recommended for non-technical users.
6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 11, 2009 6:16 AM in response to Gadil

Hi

I don't think you can play MKV in Front Row. You need to get them into iTunes and the easiest thing I've seen to do this is VideoMonkey. It's free and will recode your MKV files into MOV files and then automatically add them to iTunes (you can tell it that the files are TV shows or movies so they show up in the right section)

Lastly it can also delete your orginals if you want and carry out batch conversions. Highly recommended for non-technical users.

Apr 14, 2009 12:50 PM in response to Gadil

Hey,

You can indeed play MKV files in front row! For anyone reading this who does not have VLC, you will first need to download and install VLC Media player for OS X, get it at http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-macosx.html