Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Rulers and guide lines?

Dear iWeb experts,

I'm just learning the app. And I'm hoping, praying, there is some way to display rulers at the window margins (much like you can do in Photoshop, Illustrator, Quark, etc.). Is that possible?

Also, is there any way to create custom guide lines for lining up elements?

Thanks much.

John

Macbook Pro

Posted on Jul 2, 2009 10:40 AM

9 replies

Jul 2, 2009 11:29 PM in response to JohnIRL

Hi John!

Well Cy, as usual, has some deep dark arts that endows iWeb with features that most of us wish it to have. In the interim...

You could create an image (or images) in Photoshop that show gridlines vis-a-vis your typical set-up (pixel dimensions). The grid can be set in Photoshop's "Preferences" with minor & major gridlines. Then take a screenshot of one of the minor/major grid sections. This needs to be done carefully because you are going to "tile" this image in iWeb...

In the "Page Inspector" > "Page Background" (drop down menu) > "Image Fill" ("Tile" option)...
and select the screenshot image of the grid section you created in Photoshop.

You now have a grid set to your typical specs to assist you in the initial layout which you can use over and over for your web page designs. By the thoughtful demarcation of the minor/major grid set-up in Photoshop there should be no need for a ruler guide.

After your major design elements are in place substitute the "Image Fill" of the grid with the page background you desire.

If you need to have a guideline type of element use the "Shapes" to create a long line (or a thin rectangle) that you can drag offscreen when it's not needed. Kludgey? - you betcha! - but it works.

Jul 3, 2009 5:19 PM in response to Jim_Scott

In the interim...
You could create an image (or images) in Photoshop that show gridlines vis-a-vis your typical

that is quite over kill, isn't it?
photoshop = $$$???