Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Good word processing software with unicode font support?

If this is the wrong place, apols and please redirect me.

I stopped using MS Word v.x (2001) as it doesn't support Unicode fonts, which I absolutely need. I assume the latest Word/Office for Mac supports Unicode fonts (?), but it's too expensive, and also I always found that Word crashed a lot and I don't want to support Microsoft.

I've been using the cheap Mellel for several months. I applaud its producers, but it's far too lacking in features (e.g. no alphabetical sorting) and even after months of use is very counter-intuitive.

Can anyone recommend a good all-round word processor for Leopard on a Macbook Pro which is stable, supports unicode fonts, doesn't break the bank, and has comparable features to MS Word but preferably isn't MS Word?

Macbook Pro 15", Mac OS X (10.5.6), 2.53Ghz 4GB

Posted on Jul 7, 2009 7:34 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 7, 2009 7:55 AM

I think OpenOffice should do the it.
7 replies

Jul 7, 2009 9:40 AM in response to strida

Can anyone recommend a good all-round word processor for Leopard on a Macbook Pro which is stable, supports unicode fonts, doesn't break the bank, and has comparable features to MS Word but preferably isn't MS Word?

Of all the word processors you are likely to come across, I think only Word X and AppleWorks, both essentially obsolete, do not support Unicode. Here is a list with summary info on each app that may be helpful:

http://www.pure-mac.com/textword.html

Jul 7, 2009 2:06 PM in response to hauerdie

Now I've discovered that there are Open Office and Neo Office, but Go-oo too. How does one choose? Any advice?