1 Reply Latest reply: Jul 17, 2009 10:23 AM by Envision99
LauLauOUD Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
Hello,
I was wondering what is the difference between "Restore" on itunes and "Erase all content and settings" on iphone?
Is it the same and if yes why does it take longer to "Erase all content and settings" on iphone?

desktop, Windows XP
  • Envision99 Level 4 Level 4 (1,165 points)
    The restore only deletes all the data and reinstalls the iPhone Operating System, but someone can still carve out deleted information if they know what they are doing. The erase all content and settings will delete and overwrite everything on the iPhone so it is impossible to even extract any data from the iPhone.

    Personally I've only used the erase all content and settings when I've had to return my iPhone to Apple for technical difficulties or when I've sold an iPhone to someone else. There is no reason to do this method if you are simply reinstalling the Operating System for yourself.