Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

m-audio axiom & garageband

I just picked up the axiom 25 to use with garageband and i'm not sure where to start with this thing. I'm new to midi and i'm not sure i even understand everything about it judging by reading the manual. A lot of it just made no sense to me.
Anyway, so far I can use the axiom for its most basic of functions and play software instruments with it (though i'm having low volume issues with the axiom).
I've looked at the enigma software it came with and not sure what to really do with that either. Do i have that enigma open with garageband simultaneously? Not really sure how garageband and enigma work together or not.
What I am really looking to do with the axiom at this point is this:
Use it to play software instruments (which I can do)
assign different effects to the knobs (maybe delay, attack, decay, etc)
use the drum pads - I want to build some different kits that I can easily recall, use the pads to trigger different drum loops and fills, and trigger sound samples and sound effects.

I know that this thing can probably do a lot more, but I guess I am just not ready for that yet. Basically, I just want to do what I stated above for now. Maybe I should have started with a simpler model, but I really want to use the drum pads.

Is there other software to download besides the enigma software or is that considered the driver?

Thanks for your help and if you have experience with the axiom, I'd be curious on how you integrate it with garageband. I was looking for tutorials or documentation on using the axiom with garageband, but there is very little out there.

IMac 20 Intel 2.66, Mac OS X (10.5.3)

Posted on Jul 24, 2009 7:39 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 24, 2009 12:59 PM