Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Automator library

I am trying to have the automator automatically open all of my textedit documents that I worked on before I reboot the computer, is that possible?

Also, are more libraries available for automator? As it is the app can't do a lot. Nothing I wanted can be done by drag and drop alone. I REALLY want to avoid having to learn applescript, because I am not really a programming kind of a person.

Thanks for reading!

Macbook air 1.6Ghz, Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted on Aug 8, 2009 5:48 PM

5 replies

Aug 8, 2009 6:49 PM in response to Hoshen

Automator can open the documents, but an additional action will be needed to get what the recent documents are from TextEdit - Automator is designed to be a bit more more general purpose than an AppleScript.

There are several third party actions that can be added, for example http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/automator/ has several. In addition, developing AppleScript based Automator actions is reasonably easy (don't quote me on that), so there are also a few AppleScript's wrapped into custom actions out there.

Aug 8, 2009 8:02 PM in response to red_menace

recent documents list stores the last 10 (that number can be changed) accessed documents. this is not the same thing as the documents opened at the last logout time. I don't see any way at all to do what the OP wants. The best i can possibly see how to do is open a fixed number of the last opened documents.

Message was edited by: V.K.

Aug 10, 2015 6:02 PM in response to red_menace

Hi Red,

Just vocing my frustrations. Not aimed at you at all. I hope you are doing better than I am.

Isn't it funny that the URL that you listed has the word Automator in it, but when you follow the link and do a CMD + F for Automator, it is no where to be found?

Just like Apple, good stuff, just can't seem to get the details right.

Cheers to you!

Automator library