Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Organization Question

I am new to Aperature (dabbled a bit before) and have a very basic question. I am coming from LR2 where I imported my images to my external drive in a very simple "tree" format. I want to use referenced files and do the same in Aperture. For example, in LR2, I'd create a master Folder for "Cities", then a folder in that folder for say "New York" and download my NYC photos in that New York folder. The file system in LR2 would allow me to organize this way.

From what I can tell in Aper2, I have to set up a profect - "Cities" then download my NYC photos, then go back and create an album to have the same effect as I mentioned above (in LR2).

What am I not getting - or have I simply not figured out the organization workflow for Aperture2.

Thanks in advance for any advice to what I am sure is a very basic process.

Wm.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.5.5), Nikon D700

Posted on Aug 13, 2009 11:26 PM

9 replies

Aug 14, 2009 12:48 AM in response to Wm Y

I'm new to Aperture also and am beginning to migrate all of my photos into it.

What I have finally settled on is a folder structure for projects which I keyword at import. I then create a folder called "Cities" and create a Smart Album called "London", "Paris" etc ... within that folder. Any photo with London in the keyword is automatically sent to the "London" Smart Album from the project because that is what instruction I gave the Smart Album. I set my Smart Albums up by asking it to look for specific keywords.

Off Topic: Another nice feature was the ability to change the time zone on import because I accidently left my camera set to EST while shooting in other time zones.

I'm still a beginner and getting organized in Aperture but I hope I've helped some.

Aug 14, 2009 10:10 AM in response to Wm Y

Kathleen gave great advice regarding keywords and smart folders.