2983 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 24, 2009 2:15 PM by Allan Sampson
It will remove photos if you go and choose a different folder to sync with.
To add more, you put more photos into the folder you have already setup to sync with.
You can also add new folders under that folder.
For example: Lets say you told it to sync with
You can just put more photos in that folder that you want on the phone.
If you want to organize you can make subfolders like:
Then put photos in each of those folders with iTunes still pointed at: C:\IPHONEPHOTOS
Note though you cannot go deeper than that, meaning you cannot say
It will only get the family folder the iphonephotos folder.
I use iPhoto on my Mac for importing photos from a digital camera (including from my iPhone), and for photo storage and management. I make use of iPhoto albums for many photos. Under the Photos tab for my iPhone sync preferences, I have selected albums chosen with all iPhoto albums available in the window blow. I select which albums I want transferred to my iPhone followed by a sync. If I want to remove an album or albums from my iPhone, I deselect the albums in the window below followed by a sync. To add photos to my iPhone, I can place the photos in an existing iPhoto album selected to be transferred to my iPhone, or create a new iPhoto album for the photos, select the new album in the window below followed by a sync.
Are you manually managing photos on your Mac?
Since you are manually managing photo storage on your Mac, you deleted the folder of photos on your Mac that you selected to be transferred to your iPhone under the Photos tab for your iPhone sync preferences?
If so, was this an accident or on purpose?
Photos transferred to your iPhone are optimized for viewing on your iPhone as part of the iTunes transfer process - the original resolution and size of the photos is reduced on your iPhone, which is why Apple doesn't support transferring these photos in the opposite direction.
If I delete an iPhoto album from iPhoto that I have selected to be transferred to my iPhone under the Photos tab for my iPhone sync preferences, the iPhoto album and all photos within will be erased from my iPhone with the next sync. The same applies when manually managing photos with folder selected on your Mac's hard drive to be transferred to your iPhone. If you erase the selected folder with the photos from your Mac's hard drive, the folder and photos will be erased from your iPhone with the next sync.