Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macro Development!

Not a question, but rather a pitch if you will. This is the only Shake community I've ever been involved with so I thought I'd rub shoulders and give something back to the guys that got me started when I was a noob, now I'm painting masterpieces with it like it's Photoshop 😉

It started as a simple logo intro project for myself, I wanted to make my own custom lens flare, and it's poured over into me creating a fully fledged macro for making realistic lens flares that are 100% customizable down to the opacity, polygonal shape and lens-vignette fadeoff of every element in the lens flare (and deeper than that). Production of this has only lasted 4 hours and I've got a working script with 4 elements that renders in realtime (in 1080p), that uses coordinates (yay trigonometry!) so you can track its emission to on-camera light sources.

This came out of the fact that while pretty, the ProFlares pack is somewhat over the top in its renditions of the natural occurrence that is a lens flare, but most important to me was the pack's mind-numbingly slow render speed; and lack of customizability, no ability to change shapes etc, just the ability to turn elements on and off, and change the opacity.